Humans Of Bangalore – May to August ’14

“The annual problem for our generation is finding a good way to spend it”.

The Phineas & Ferb theme song aptly sums up every kid’s dilemma during summer vacations.

This time around, however, I had an extra three months to kill due to a change in course from the regular CBSE to the IB curriculum. So, as all my ex-classmates went back to school, I geared up for nearly quarter of a year of randomly roaming the streets of Bangalore. And now, as school begins in less than 48 hours, I can proudly say that I can compete with Google Maps when it comes to finding places in the city.

I was always fascinated by the legendary blog Humans Of New York. There are several of these “Humans Of…..” pages all around the world, so I decided to get in touch with Humans Of Bangalore – a Facebook page with around 8,000 likes in the middle of May. They graciously responded by saying that they would be open to outside contributions. And thus, it began…

7

 

6

 

5

 

4

 

3

 

2

1

 

I wouldn’t say I’ve had an extremely constructive extended summer vacation, because I did sit around at the edge of my WiFi radius most of the time, but I can happily admit that I have experienced a lot – some experiences were captured on camera and some the camera couldn’t have done justice to.

Approaching a completely random stranger, speaking to them, and taking their picture in a country where street photography is still frowned upon is easier said than done. People giving you a strange look before walking away is difficult to deal with. But once you find that perfect subject to shoot, you find yourself in an intense conversation about issues like World Peace with a person you’ve met barely five minutes previously. Now that is something special.

As of today, Humans Of Bangalore has over 17,000 likes. Do check out the page!

Leave a Reply

